Celebrating our Students

news banner
doa yucel photo

February 2023

Congratulations to Doa Yucel who completed his PhD and is currently a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Harvard University, Boston Children's Hospital.


2022 cohort

July 2022

Congratulations to Jenna and Gavin who were both poster session winners at the 2022 Cardio Palooza on July 31.

gavin award
jenna mendleson
alexie larson

May 2022

Recent graduate, Alexie Larson started working at Thermo Fisher Scientific within their imaging and detection team.

May 2022
Congratulations to our award recipients:

Fanta Barrow (Revelo lab) is the 2022 IBP Milne and Brandenburg Award recipient. This award recognizes exceptional thesis research in biomedical sciences. Fanta is also the awardee of the Jan Lunden Award.  This award honors outstanding research by a graduate or medical student in the field of molecular hepatology.

Ingrid Rodriguez Aragon (Batchelor lab) is the 2021-2022 recipient of the Lifson-Johnson award for excellence in teaching.

Brandon Wagner received the Dr. Marvin and Hadassah Bacaner Research in IBP Award which recognizes exceptional research achievement by graduate students.

Seokwon Jo (Alejandro lab) is the recipient of the Veneziale-Steer Award.  This award recognizes outstanding research by a graduate or medical student in the field of cellular growth regulation.

April 2022
Recent graduate, Brandon Wagner accepted a job at Bio-Techne as Scientist in antibody development, primarily focusing on the development of antibodies for flow cytometry and cell selection.


March 2022
Brandon Wagner successfully defended his thesis and earned his Ph.D.!   Way to go, Brandon! Title: "Physiological Consequences of Increased Phosphorylation-Dependent Activation of Guanylyl Cyclase-A and -B"



February 2022
Ph.D. Candidate, Seokwon Jo, received notice that his submitted NIH NIDDK grant application was approved for funding. Great news, Seokwon!


December 2021
Congratulations to Alexie Larson on a successful Ph.D. thesis defense! "Satellite cell maintenance and the strength recovery after injury: the impact of estradiol signaling"


November 2021
Fanta Barrow won a Early Career Investigator Award through the AASLD foundation. Congratulations!  check out the details on Twitter.

2021 cohort

October 2021
Congratulations Iffy on passing your final thesis defense! Iffy is completing his M.D. through the University of Minnesota’s Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PHD).


itasca view
group pic